Choices That Are Changing Lives in D.C.

The Washington Post looks into the effects of school choice in our Nation’s Capital and finds that it choice creates hope and opportunities where none had previously existed.

Here’s how one mother expressed it to researchers from Georgetown University and the University of Arkansas: “Before . . . his grades were below average, and for the first time he made the honor roll . . . He came home, he was so proud that he made the honor roll . . . They had the awards ceremony, so I wouldn’t tell him I was coming . . . When he came out he saw [my husband and me] sitting in the first row . . . He gave us this big grin; but to see him walk up there and receive that piece of paper, I mean you could see the joy all over him.”

Read the whole article here.

Comments are closed.